Amanda D. Melin, PI

IMG_20170812_205748.jpg

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, CANADA RESEARCH CHAIR
ANTHROPOLOGY AND ARCHAEOLOGY & MEDICAL GENETICS

University of Calgary

Earth Sciences 710D (main campus)

HMRB 223 (Foothills campus)

amanda.melin@ucalgary.ca

403-210-7579 (main campus)
403-210-6640 (Foothills campus)


 Amanda Melin CV

  • PhD, Biological Anthropology; Department of Anthropology; University of Calgary, Canada (2011)
  • Master of Arts, Primatology;  Department of Anthropology; University of Calgary, Canada (2006)
  • Bachelor of Science, Zoology; Department of Biological Sciences; University of Calgary, Canada (2003)

Joseph Orkin

comparative genomics, gut microbiome, conservation genetics

POSTDOCTORAL SCHOLAR

Earth Sciences 710A

joseph.orkin@ucalgary.ca


Joseph Orkin CV

  • PhD, Anthropology; Washington University in St. Louis (2014)
  • MA, Anthropology; Washington University in St. Louis (2008)
  • BA, Anthropology; The Pennsylvania State University, Schreyer Honors College (2005)

Carrie Veilleux

primate sensory ecology, genomics, foraging behaviour
IMG_20170803_161953.jpg

POSTDOCTORAL SCHOLAR

Earth Sciences 710A

carrie.veilleux1@ucalgary.ca

Carrie's Personal Website


Carrie Veilleux CV

  • Ph.D., Anthropology. University of Texas at Austin (2012)
  • M.A., Anthropology. University of Texas at Austin (2006)
  • B.A., Anthropology, Psychology minor, Barrett Honors College, Arisona State University (2004)

Gwen Duytschaever

LAB SUPERVISOR

Foothills Campus, HMRB 220 (lab), 223 (office)

gwen.duytschaever2@ucalgary.ca

403-210-6875 (office)
403-220-8862 (lab)


Gwen Duytschaever Resume

  • PhD Biotechnology, Ghent University, Belgium (2012)
  • MA Biology, Ghent University, Belgium (2007)
  • BSc Biology, Ghent University, Belgium (2005)

Shasta Webb

primate reproductive ecology, foraging behaviour, gut microbiome

GRADUATE STUDENT (PhD)

Earth Sciences 720

shasta.webb@ucalgary.ca


Shasta Webb CV

  • M.A. Biological Anthropology, University of Calgary (2017)
  • B.A. Anthropology, Macalester College (2013)

Colin MacFarland

host parasite interactions, disease ecology, gut microbiome, 

GRADUATE STUDENT (MSc)

cemacfar@ucalgary.ca


Colin MacFarland CV

  • BSc Cellular, Molecular, Microbial Biology, University of Calgary (2016)

Laís Moreira

primate sensory ecology, sociosexual communication, colouration, New World primates

GRADUATE STUDENT (PhD)


lais.pacheco@ucalgary.ca


Laís Moreira CV

  • M.A. Psychobiology, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
  • B.A. Biology, Universidade de Brasília, Brazil

Rachel Williamson

foraging ecology, niche divergence, primate behaviour

GRADUATE STUDENT (MA)


rachel.williamson1@ucalgary.ca


Rachel Williamson CV

  • B.A. Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology, Washington University in St. Louis (2015)

 


Haley Glass

molecular adaptation, toxin evolution, ecology of amphibians
Haley.jpg

AFFILIATED GRADUATE STUDENT (PhD)


haley.glass@ucalgary.ca


Haley Glass CV

  • BSc Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution. Minor in Conservation Biology, University of California Los Angeles

Swellan Pinto

molecular ecology, comparative genetics, ethanol metabolism, primate evolution

UNDERGRADUATE HONOURS STUDENT


swellan.pinto@ucalgary.ca


Swellan Pinto CV


Jia Tang

comparative genomics, sensory ecology

UNDERGRADUATE HONOURS STUDENT


jia.tang@ucalgary.ca
 

 


Past Lab Members

Eva Garrett (postdoctoral scholar)

primate evolution, sensory ecology

CURRENT POSITION: ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY

BOSTON UNIVERSITY (www.ecgarrett.com)

IMG_9330.jpg